Doggie Pawlympics 2015: Pet Express Bridging Dog Lovers Nationwide ❤

“I love my dogs like they’re my kids, flesh and blood” is an understatement. For the longest time, I had begged my parents to get me a dog–any dog–to take care of. Unfortunately, the asthma-plagued kid that I was, the idea always gets gunned down.

It was Christmas 2008 when I first got my very first (and second) puppies. She’s a French Bulldog and I named her Moichi, after Mochi Balls. I also got Rigor, an APBT that was named after Ryan Agoncillo’s Pieta. They’re my very own. I get to cuddle with them and sleep next to them. It was different from all the pets I had.

Buttercup, Jambalaya, Momma Moichi, and Bulgogi
Buttercup, Jambalaya, Momma Moichi, and Bulgogi
dog22
Rigor

The following year, I discovered a new Pet Supplies Store near my place. It was Pet Express SM Cubao. It all started there. Ever since then I have been a loyal customer.

What’s good about Pet Express is that they’re not just your typical pet supplies store that exists mainly for the sake of retail. They organize events that give your furkids a chance to socialize. The latest one being the Doggie Pawlympics 2015.

DSCF0131

We got tickets to the event by purchasing our monthly stock of dog food. For a minimum purchase of 500 Php, you get 1 free VIP Pass. Since I have 2 furkids (Jambalaya and Bulgogi – Moichi’s children) in mind that are more than excited to join these kinds of events, I purchased another ticket.

We arrived at the location just in time for the registration. One of the Pet Express’ personnel took note of the names of my Frenchies and gave them their participant’s number ID. They also handed us Kibbles ‘n Bits hand towel to dry the pups after they submerge and play around in the pool.

DSCF0132

After that it was just plain chaos as Jambalaya and Bulgogi begged to walk around and socialize with the other dogs.

DSCF0163

DSCF0164

It was a windy day (thank goodness) and I must say that Pet Express is ready should the summer heat take over. They have 2 pools on stand by. One pool is for the large breeds, and the other one for the medium ones and, yes, I grabbed the opportunity to let the two enjoy this privilege.

DSCF0257

DSCF0141

DSCF0140

DSCF0291

Despite the violent hesitations, Jambalaya and Bulgogi got the hang of it and enjoyed the water. Crowds were gathering one after the other to enjoy the sight of a variation of dog breeds swim and play around.

DSCF0240

DSCF0239

Participants were then called to give the Dock Diving Area a try. I knew right then that this was a losing battle. My dogs does not have long tails and they’re stubbed nose. LOL.

Dock Diving, also known as dock jumping, is a dog sport in which dogs compete in jumping for distance or height from a dock into a body of water. The jump distance is measured, by most organizations, from the lateral midpoint of the end of the dock to the point at which the base of the dog’s tail (where the tail meets the body) breaks the water’s surface.  (Wikipedia).

We gave it a shot, though. We went up the platform as the Pet Express crew equipped my babies with EZYDOG life vests. I had never gotten over that, the EzyDog, that is! They’re a very sturdy and reliable brand of doggy equipment. They’re pretty much expensive and it has always been my dream to own one. So, yeah, imagine me fan-girling and snapping away at that moment in time.

DSCF0176

DSCF0174

Jambalaya was up first and she was scared out of her wits because of the height to which she has to jump. One of the Pet Express volunteers ushered her into the water and as soon as she floated, it was history. She showed her spunky attitude and swam about!

DSCF0194

When it was Bulgogi’s turn, same thing happened. He didn’t jump right into the pool but instead, needed to be carefully handed over to Kuya. He hated swimming. I would understand my baby boy. He’s a little bit on the bulky side and strenuous activities are not his forte.

DSCF0201

Flattering Moment: As we were getting prepared for all this, the host of the event remembered Bulgogi and Jambalaya. He said that we were Pet Express regulars and we’ve been constantly joining their events. He even mentioned that we won the More Than Just A Love A-Fur even last Valentines’ Day for Best Tandem. My ears were all red and my pride had reached Nirvana!

DSCF0210

Sorry ヘ(^_^ヘ)(ノ^_^)ノ. Moving forward, we didn’t actually join the main event. I knew for a fact that my kids are plain cute but never sporty. We just wandered around, swam again and again, and when it was finally time to leave, we passed by the Pet Express store at MOA to claim our loot bags.

The loot bag was sponsored by Kibbles n’ Bits and contained a bag of dry kibbles, canned wet dog food, and a doggie dish. I live for these events!

11263015_10206255630170634_5760304164433680977_n

And yeah, we also got the chance to see BB Gandanghari and her senior baby, Ihman, who won last year’s event ^_^

DSCF0289

Thank you Petexpress, we had such a great day! Overall, we had a superb time!!!

DSCF0169

I am so happy to be part of this community!

DSCF0126

***This blog is not sponsored by Pet Express, nor EZYDOG.

***The Doggie Pawlympics 2015 was held at MOA By The Bay last May 10, 2015.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. my twin daughters love puppy and we just bought cross breed puppies from friends and neighbors. Are you in puppy breeding ?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. janndaquigan says:

      Sorry I must have overlooked this. My sincerest apologies for doing so. 😦

      We used to breed our frenchies until we’ve decided to stop doing so. We got concerned so much on where they will be going or if the families they’re going to would take good care of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pam :) says:

    Cute ng mga doggies mo!! Sayang di ko to nbalitaan. Sana next year meron ulit! My furbaby and I will surely join!

    Like

    1. janndaquigan says:

      Thank you!!! 😀 Hope to see you there soon with your furkids!

      Like

Leave a Reply

