Shorthorn Pares: Sinfully Delicious

In life, we all have to take risks. Being the self-proclaimed audacious person that I am, I love having a good laugh in the fangs of danger. My blog today isn’t about me challenging how far my adrenaline can hold my system, but more of how my liver, heart, and other organs can survive the gluttonous abuse I bring upon myself. Let’s talk about how 160/100 on the sphygmomanometer as our target, shall we?

Shorthorn Pares is a humble, familiar shack found in the outskirts of Barangay Bahay Toro in Project 8, Quezon City. Honestly, we weren’t hungry when we decided on that food expedition. We were just drawn by the number of social media posts, all raving how the place serves the meanest Pares in town. Imagine this: your typical Pares served on a very ordinary bowl, but adorned with the chunkiest, juiciest, and the most sinful slab of bone marrow, you’d probably witnessed in your whole entire lifetime. I thought to myself, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?

So there we were, me and my partner, waiting for our turn to order. I recalled telling him how I’d love to have a house with a big garage so I can turn it to something profit-generating like Shorthorn Pares. All you need is a gimmick that would literally bring all the “boys in your yard”. What Shorthorn Pares did was set up a conventional carinderia/tapsihan/pares-mami, and surprise everyone with an unexpected, and vein-busting dish that will definitely look good and irresistible on your Instagram feed.

Anyway, I was feeling mighty daring that day and ordered their SB Pares. That would be Pares with beef bone marrow and brains. My partner ordered Bulag which is short for Bulaklak (colloquial term for pork intestines) and Lugaw. Our uric acid was pretty much shaking in threat that time but we had to do it! Paired with chili, beef broth soup, and a bowl of fried rice, we took a chance at life.

It wasn’t disappointing at all—not even a hint of! The food was well-cooked, that it is actually, literally torched to perfection! The taste was there, the quality was there. Every single sinful chew, I swear you’d be reminded why you are submitting to this mortal gamble! Fun fact: beef bone marrow is in reality, a good source of protein and can aid cell repair and regeneration. You just need to consume in moderate amounts. Too much of this is a recipe for heart attack!

When we visited Shorthorn Pares, though, there wasn’t a designated parking area. However, there will be little boys that will assist you in parking your car on a safe part of the street. Tip them please!

All that said, what I can conclude is that I am a sucker for dishes like what Shorthorn Pares has to offer. Yes, it may be dangerous but it was worth it. The fad that is Shorthorn Pares is rightfully just and I understand why after a year or so, people still frequent it. My partner and I went to Shorthorn Pares that day just to see what the buzz was all about but we went home a patron that is hungry for more!

2 thoughts on “Shorthorn Pares: Sinfully Delicious

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.